Sevilla de mi corazón (Part II)

DSC_0673

After a very exhausting day visiting the city, the night had to be as awesome, and it was! Marina had arranged a dinner at Levies, another Tapas’ place, with her friends. It was very funny because I already knew two of them from an International Conference of AIESEC! How small is the world? I had the Spanish tortilla for dinner and it was sooooo delicious! Then, Marina, Carlos, Grego and I went to a traditional place in Sevilla called La Carboneria. I don’t really know how to describe the Place… We hear traditional songs from Sevilla, Carlos played the piano and Grego gave me a bit of his wine that had a strange name and a stranger taste. I was sad because no one was dancing Sevilhana (the traditional dance) but by the end of the night Marina and Carlos did little show for me in the street! But at this point the night was just beginning….

How was sevilla night life? One word: Alfafa! Alfafa is a street full of bars and pubs for young people. People in Sevilla can’t drink in the street (which is strange to me because in the area of Pubs in Lisbon everyone is drinking in the streets) so the pubs were full of people. We finally found one with empty chairs so we decided that it was a good place to get some drinks. It was the Erasmus bar, but I think I was the only person from outside Spain and I was not even there in Erasmus! Nevertheless we had a great time. I don’t really like shots (short drinks) but it was traditional there, so how could I refuse? Then we all asked for a long drink and I asked for Vodka with Coca-cola which is a normal request in Portugal, but they all found it very strange and the lady in the bar was very shocked how I could drink that strange thing. They would drink vodka with orange juice or rum and cola, but never vodka-cola! Then we went to the Pub Cabo Loco and by the end of the night we decided to go dancing to another bar.

Main point of Sevilla night life: don’t try to leave the bar with your drink, police don’t let you drink in the street and Vodka-cola is not a reasonable request! Late at night we returned to Prado and in our way there Marina and Carlos danced Sevillana music so I could see it.

But I still had two more days to enjoy Sevilla…

To be continued

Leave a Reply

